CHECKING IN

Yes, I’m still alive.

When New Year’s rolled around, I knew that I needed a break, but I never expected to go silent for more than two months.  Many thanks to those of you who have reached out to make sure I was OK.

I’m on sabbatical this semester at Wheaton, which means I am working as hard as ever but with a narrower focus.  As I have shared several times on this blog, my sense of vocation–my heart’s greatest desire–is to be in conversation with folks outside of the Academy about the intersection of the love of God, the life of the mind, and the study of the past.  Toward that end, I am finishing up a long-overdue manuscript for Intervarsity Press (“A Little Book for New Historians”) and laying the groundwork for at least two other book projects as well. I now spend almost all of my time in a tiny cubicle in the college library, writing a bit every day and devoting the rest of the time to reading, reading, and more reading.  As soon as the weather allows, I’ll relocate to a camp chair in a local forest preserve, but other than that my routine will stay the same.

But I’m not going to ignore you entirely.  I’ll try to share some of what I am reading with you occasionally, and I plan to re-post a selection of essays from previous years (maybe once a week or so).

I look forward to resuming the conversation.

Take care.

buswell-carrel

8 responses to “CHECKING IN

  1. So glad to see this. I’m looking forward to more posts here and to the books. Wheaton is blessed to have you.

  2. I’m sure that the sabbatical will be beneficial. It’s good to change routines now and then.

  3. Joshua Jordan

    Great to hear from you. I look forward to benefiting from your future work. Thank you for taking your calling so seriously and for reading and writing so that we can learn and grow. We are truly endebted to you for your service.

  4. So glad to hear you are still out there. Miss your voice during this perplexing political season. And I thought the election season was challenging.

  5. Woo-hoo! I thought you might have given up on us. Glad to know there’s “more to come”!

  6. 6 March 2017

    Tracy–

    I was going to give you until the ides of March and then query what you were up to. So good to hear from you sooner.

    Looking forward to your “A Little Book for New Historians” although at this stage of life old would be a better word.

    Hope that book and the others you have in mind go well.

    Gary

  7. Good to hear from you; glad you’re well, reading, writing, and still engaged with your blog!

  8. Jack Be Nimble

    Hi Tracy,

    Whew! I was worried you had gone off the grid on a secret mission to locate the Ark of the Covenant. I would give a 10 dollar bill to know your thoughts about our new President, especially after the posts you ran prior to the election. However, I know that is not going to happen and I will keep my comments private as well. After all, history of some sort is being made!
    My Sunday School class is in the middle of a study on church history – coming up on the Reformation – and I am increasingly convinced that we as Christians need to refine our ability to think Christianly about history as well as the issues we face in our contemporary world. I do miss the department but my voice being what it is would make teaching difficult. Looking forward to future posts!

Leave a Reply

